First Contact!

My first night in San Francisco was awesome!  It was great to be my new home with Crystal…who again is my Goddess Eternal for giving me this opportunity.

On Tuesday, my friend Steve picked me up and took me on an exploration foray into the city.  WOW!!  That is an inappropriate word to describe the magnitude of how incredible SF is…. but WOW!!!

First thing we did was go to Telegraph Hill!  It was great!  We did not see the parrots, but the monument was really cool and the story about the lady who had it built even cooler!  Apparently she was a cigar-smoking cross-dresser with a penchant for drinking and gambling that loved firemen and their big hoses….hence the shape of the monument! The murals inside are awesome!!!

For more of the story of this monument, please visit :            http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coit_Tower
Our next stop was the Castro for lunch… My first introduction to Gay Ground Zero!  Lol!  It was an interesting walk, full of businesses decked out for Halloween (one hardware store had a full assortment of feather boas and wigs  in addition to hammers and saws) and restaurant with hilarious (to me) names, like The Sausage Factory!  Giggle giggle! On our way out of the area, we took a brief stint through a small section of China Town…where I saw my first window with dead chickens and ducks hanging in it!

Our next stop was going to blow my mind!!!  We went to the Marina District, and this little place called The Palace of Fine Arts… WOW!!!  Again with the WOW…but it was WOW!!!  We did not go in to the building, but what was outside was more than enough! The pictures should explain….

For more information on this AMAZING place, check out     http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Palace_of_Fine_Arts

 
Next on our journey was the Golden Gate Bridge and a speedy tour through Golden Gate Park!  AMAZING!  I am going to have to spend several months exploring this area, as there is so much cool stuff to see!!  I was totally blown away!! There are so many little pockets of coolness through out the park, and I can’t wait to explore each one. 

Our last stop was the beach at Land’s End.  As we were getting ready to leave, Mr. Hipster walks out onto the sand carrying something that looked like a strange fishing contraption.  Little did I know I was about to be treated to another jaw-dropping experience!  He got out by the water and proceeded to blow the BIGGEST BUBBLES I HAVE EVER SEEN!!  They were so awesome!!  The pictures just do not do them justice!

 

What a great day indeed!!!

Leave a comment