The Drive….

You know how you say ‘Never Again’ and you are setting yourself up for a repeat performance?  Well I don’t want to jinx myself, but honestly, NEVER AGAIN!!!  That drive was insane!!! I left San Antonio at 2:00am, and finally made it to El Paso around 1:00pm!!!  Texas is sometimes just too damn big!!! 

Six hours later I finally came to rest in Phoenix, Arizona..had dinner with my friend Barry, and then passed out cold!  I did not even get to see the Giants win the World Series!!!  Total drive time….17 hours!  UGH!!  Side note…was not really impressed with El Paso…and Southern New Mexico was blah!  Arizona, however was beautiful and I got to see my first big wild cactus!!  Awesome!

Monday morning I woke at 5am and hit the road again…. Saw a huge windfarm area outside of Palm Springs…very cool! 

ImageImage

All was going smoothly until I hit San Bernandino…TRAFFIC!! Arghhh!  Was nasty until I left the LA area.  And then…..THE MOUNTAIN!!!  I had been warned..but even the warnings did not prepare me for the reality!!!  You have to turn your AC off so your vehicle does not overheat….ya…mine still got dangerously close!  Average speed up the mountain was 25 miles per hour!  It was insane!  Once over the hump though, all was smooth sailing…literally!  I did not have to touch the gas pedal for 6 miles!!!  Driving through the middle part of California reminded me much of South Texas with all of the scrubby vegetation…..with the notable exception of the crops grown there!  I saw a Pistachio farm!!!  WHOOHOOO!  Cool part of this portion of the drive happened at sunset…the sun was setting behind the mountains to the West, and the full moon was rising in the East!  Finally rolled in to San Francisco around 8pm…and was sooo glad!!  Parked truck in safe place and headed over to new home with Crystal!  She told me after I dropped off a load of stuff in the garage to go up the hill and find a place to park…ummm…. I got lost!  LOL!  This new city is going to take some getting used to!!! 

2 thoughts on “The Drive….

  1. Carol Schweitzer says:

    You are an absolutely wonderfull writer! Felt like I was suffering through the whole thing with you. 🙂 You should know that after 30 years of military moves, I figured one thing out for certain. If ONE thing goes wrong there WILL be more. There is never just ONE thing. So very glad you got where you were going and hope you have a great life there. Love ya much,
    Aunt Carol

  2. beefybear says:

    Yes it is. I know what it is like to drive that length. I even drove further than that. Portland Oregon to Portland Maine, all by myself. I would never do that again on my own. It took like 6 days 10-12 hour drives.

Leave a comment