A Very Special Day

November 6, 2012

This was indeed a very special day…on many levels!

First, in the morning I got to go to work with Crystal and see how the sea food business works on the distribution end.  What a blast!  I got to help get the fish ready to be delivered to the restaurants and then got to go with Crystal on the delivery route.  The company she works for (and the one hopefully I too will be working for) is called TwoXSea (Two By Sea) and is dedicated to providing its clientele with fresh sea food obtained using sustainable fishing methods.  Please visit their website at http://twoxsea.com for more information!

After work, Crystal and I lounged around a bit and were trying not to get wound up about he election results.  Luckily for me, my bud Erik texted and provided an escape!  He needed crickets for his Fire-bellied toads, and I needed crickets for Xena…so off to Petco we went!  After, we were both hungry so we shot over to The Castro and had dinner at The Dancing Pig (Newish BBQ place)..it was not Texas BBQ, but is was good!  After eating we strolled up the street (which was blocked off to cars) towards the lights and music they had playing while everyone waited to hear the results of the election.  Soon after we got there, there was an announcement…  OBAMA WAS RE-ELECTED FOR ANOTHER FOUR YEARS!!!  We also later found out that four other states passed legislation allowing gay marriages.

(pics to follow when wifi is not being a jackass)

WOW…if you had told me even two months ago that I would be in this wonderful place, surrounded by wonderful people, and would be hearing the results of a highly contested election where my rights as a citizen of the USA  and as a human being were being challenged…and that I would be in the middle of The Castro when I heard the results that made my heart soar on wings of joy..I would have thought you to be outta your tree!!  But there I was…and it was happening all around me.  It was a very quiet victory, even in the heart of gay culture….people were happy and hugging and kissing and even shedding tears…and I was there with a good friend in the middle of it all.
We decided to leave The Castro and wandered over to a city park nearby which gave us a spectacular view of down town…while looking at the stars, we were wondering which were stars and which were planets….and Erik mentioned he had a telescope and knew of a place over by my apartment where we could get a better view…so with that wild hair, off we went!  In my hood is a hill called Bernal Hill (Bernal Heights) which sticks up out of the surrounding buildings.  We hiked up to the top and got out the telescope and saw planets and stars and a meteor!  We were also treated to one of the most beautiful night time views of a city I have ever seen…just amazing!

It was the perfect end to a perfect day!!!

I am gay….

I am happy….

I am blessed….

Life is good!!!!!
(Now I just need a job!!!  LOL)

One thought on “A Very Special Day

  1. Steve says:

    Now write about the mani-pedi brunch!

Leave a comment